Dreaming big: don’t get in the way of yourself

It’s been quite a while since I wrote a post on here, but I’ve been pretty busy, so cut me some slack! If you don’t know, I am now writing for voiceoftv.com, so go over there and check me out. You just have to search for my name! And I’m always active and engaging on Twitter: @drewreeves1.

But what inspired me to get back into writing here was actually a random stranger I heard on the internet ranting about how if you’re not achieving your dreams, their really not big enough, or you’re just not working hard enough. And it resonated with me how true that was. I realized that I had gotten complacent with my life. I recently got a job and moved into my own apartment (https://vine.co/v/bVQ5ZJv7OPd). I’ve been here three months and kind of stopped working toward what’s next. I want to do so many things, many of which involve writing, and besides the news stories I write at work, I had quit writing. I had quit working toward what’s next. I realized my dreams were fading… I was letting them begin to slip out of my reach. Then this morning, I saw a post on Facebook: “If your dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough.” My dreams do scare me, and I think that’s part of the reason I did stop striving. How will I ever break into writing in the television industry if I stop trying? It’s never going to happen if I don’t continue working for it. I can do anything I want if I work hard for it, but if I get complacent with life, I’m just going to stay where I am forever. I DON’T want that.

So, here I am. Back on the blogging grind. Working toward my dreams. I’m not going to let fear of failure bring me down. I’m going to put my best foot forward, and if I trip and fall, that’s life! I’ll deal with it. I’ll pick myself up and get back out there. I don’t want to let fear get in the way of doing what I love. I write a weekly review of Breaking Bad over at Voice of TV and if you watch the show, I encourage you to check it out. If you think it sucks…. keep it to yourself. And if you’re feeling the same way I was, realize that nothing is out of your grasp. We’re young (no matter what age you are)! Life is in the palm of our hands; we can be anything we want. Don’t be afraid to go for what you want in life and do what you love. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job and I love my life, but is this where I want to be forever? Absolutely not. I want to live with that same childlike wonder we’re born with. I want to look at the world and think I can achieve anything! These thoughts have been running through my mind the past couple nights, and I’m ready to get out there and go for it! And I hope you do too!

Leave a comment